Valencia city has been selected as one of the 12 finalists to the contest EU Capital of Innovation.

 Please fill in the form  to show your support to Valencia’s nomination as EU Capital of Innovation!

Twelve cities from nine countries are in the final stage of the contest to become the European Capital of Innovation 2020. Funded by Horizon 2020, EU’s research and innovation programme, the prize recognises the European cities that develop vibrant innovation ecosystems to address public challenges and improve the lives of the people.

The finalists of this year’s edition are (in alphabetical order):

  1. Cluj-Napoca (Romania)
  2. Espoo  (Finland)
  3. Ghent (Belgium)
  4. Groningen (The Netherlands)
  5. Helsingborg (Sweden)
  6. Leeuwarden (The Netherlands)
  7. Leuven (Belgium)
  8. Linz (Austria)
  9. Milano (Italy)
  10. Reykjavik (Iceland)
  11. Valencia (Spain)
  12. Vienna (Austria)

The European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital) contest is run and funded under Horizon 2020, the EU’s research and innovation programme. It acknowledges cities as unique actors in advancing innovation and significantly contributing to greater resiliency, sustainability and quality of life. Cities in EU Member States and in countries Associated to Horizon 2020 are eligible to enter the contest.

Barcelona won the first competition in 2014 for its use of new technologies to bring the city closer to people and fostering economic growth. Amsterdam won in 2016 for creating an innovation ecosystem with four dimensions: smart, start-ups, liveability and digital social innovation. Paris was named European Capital of Innovation in 2017 for its support in growing the local start-up community and the initiatives offered to the public to actively co-create the city. In 2018, Athens won the title as an example of a city that, despite facing many challenges, used innovation to help the local community bring about change and open up to the world. Nantes received the 2019 title for accelerating democratic participation in tackling challenges such as energy, ageing, the digital transition and social inclusion.